Verstappen and Red Bull win the Azerbaijan GP

Max Verstappen wins ahead of Sergio Pérez and George Russell. Summary and standings of the 2022 Formula 1 Azerbaijan Grand Prix.

Max Verstappen and Red Bull take advantage of the Ferrari disaster to claim a fifth success this season. Sergio Pérez had managed to get the best start, to come out of the first corner ahead of Charles Leclerc and Max Verstappen.

At the start of the race, Carlos Sainz experienced hydraulic problems, which led to the loss of the rear brakes. 15 laps later, Charles Leclerc’s Ferrari also suffered a mechanical problem. The Monegasque’s propulsion unit went up in smoke. Both pilots are forced to retire. It’s a zero point for the Italian clan which experiences a third abandonment in the space of three races.

Max Verstappen took advantage of the race restart to catch up and overtake his teammate, who had attacked too much at the start of the race. The latter was in difficulty with the management of his tires. The race will finally be marked by two other Ferrari engine retirements (Kevin Magnussen – Haas, Zhou Guanyu – Alfa Romeo).

Behind, Pierre Gasly failed to contain the ardor of Lewis Hamilton. The seven-time world champion recovers 4th place in the Grand Prix ahead of the Frenchman. Once again, the Alpha Tauri stable made the wrong strategic choice.

Alpine, for its part, made the choice of a daring strategic bet hoping for the intervention of the safety car. Unfortunately, the latter did not appear this Sunday afternoon and does not allow the Viry-Châtillon clan to conclude as desired. Esteban Ocon and Fernando Alonso finish respectively in 7th and 10th rows.
Scuderia Ferrari is now marking time with its direct competitor: Red Bull. Prancing Horse now concedes 80 units to Red Bull. Charles Leclerc is relegated to third place and is now 34 points behind Max Verstappen.

Ranking :

  1. Max Verstappen – Red Bull Racing
  2. Sergio Perez – Red Bull Racing
  3. George Russell – Mercedes AMG
  4. Lewis Hamilton-Mercedes AMG
  5. Pierre Gasly – Alpha Tauri
  6. Sebastian Vettel-Aston Martin
  7. Fernando Alonso – Alpine
  8. Daniel Ricciardo – McLaren
  9. Lando Norris–McLaren
  10. Esteban Ocon – Alpine
  11. Valtteri Bottas – Alfa Romeo
  12. Alex Albon-Williams
  13. Yuki Tsunoda – Alpha Tauri
  14. Mick Schumacher-Haas
  15. Nicholas Latifi-Williams
  16. Lance Stroll – Aston Martin (OUT)
  17. Kevin Magnussen-Haas (OUT)
  18. Guanyu Zhou – Alfa Romeo (OUT)
  19. Charles Leclerc – Scuderia Ferrari (OUT)
  20. Carlos Sainz – Scuderia Ferrari (OUT)

Photo: Icon Sports

To read on

24h of Le Mans 2022: live race + TV program

Formula 1: Charles Leclerc’s reaction after his retirement

Formula 1: Sergio Pérez “There is no hierarchy with Max Verstappen”

Source link
#Verstappen #Red #Bull #win #Azerbaijan

What do you think?


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.



How the 2023 Toyota Sequoia Compares to the 2022 Model

Ezra Dyer: The Circle of Bronco