Pérez and Red Bull winners in Monaco

Sergio Pérez won ahead of Carlos Sainz and Max Verstappen. Summary and ranking of the 2022 Formula 1 Monaco Grand Prix.

The curse of the Rock has struck again. Charles Leclerc still does not have a victory in the principality, unlike Sergio Pérez. The Mexican won the 2022 edition of the Monaco Grand Prix.

Partially marked by stormy showers that delayed the start of the race, it was the strategy that gave victory to the Red Bull team. More incisive in these decision-making during changing conditions, it allowed Sergio Pérez to take the lead in the pits. Conversely, the Scuderia drowned under the drops of water until it caused strategic chaos and caused Charles Leclerc to fail in 4th place behind Max Verstappen.

After the interruption of the race following the accident of Mick Schumacher, the track had time to dry. From then on, strategic bluffs were impossible. The mission was to reach the finish on medium or hard rubber. Sergio Pérez carried out the task successfully, especially as he was helped by the narrowness of the track and the difficulty of overtaking an opponent.

F1 GP Monaco 2022: Schumacher’s crash in video

However, this rule did not apply for Pierre Gasly who was the author of a magnificent overtaking and a rise to 11th place. Esteban Ocon was not as successful as his compatriot. The Alpine driver received a 5-second penalty following a slight contact with Lewis Hamilton, which caused him to fail out of the top 10 in 12th place.

Max Verstappen therefore extends his lead in the drivers’ championship to 9 pts behind Charles Leclerc. But the Monaco Grand Prix has given birth to a serious new contender for the championship, in the person of Sergio Pérez. What about the rest of the championship?

Race classification:

  1. Sergio Perez – Red Bull
  2. Carlos Sainz-Ferrari
  3. Max Verstappen – Red Bull
  4. Charles Leclerc-Ferrari
  5. George Russell-Mercedes
  6. Lando Norris–McLaren
  7. Fernando Alonso – Alpine
  8. Lewis Hamilton-Mercedes
  9. Valtteri Bottas – Alfa Romeo
  10. Sebastian Vettel-Aston Martin
  11. Pierre Gasly – Alpha Tauri
  12. Esteban Ocon – Alpine
  13. Daniel Ricciardo – McLaren
  14. Lance Stroll-Aston Martin
  15. Nicholas Latifi-Williams
  16. Zhou Guanyu-Alfa Romeo
  17. Yuki Tsunoda – Alpha Tauri
  18. Alex Albon-Williams (OUT)
  19. Mick Schumacher-Haas (OUT)
  20. Kevin Magnussen-Haas (OUT)

Photo: Icon Sports

To read on auto-moto.com:

Moto GP Italy 2022: Imperial Bagnaia, Quartararo P2

F1 GP Monaco 2022: driver reactions

2022 Indianapolis 200: Live Race

Source link
#Pérez #Red #Bull #winners #Monaco

What do you think?


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.



Romain Grosjean’s reaction

Paid parking is expanding in this city